MoneySavingExpert.com has just posted the following message with the title Advice re potential counterfeit goods purchased online.
Hi Guys Been a while since i've posted on here, but I have a potential dilemma brewing and could think of nowhere better to seek some initial advice! Basically i've started my Christmas shopping early(!) and recently went on the hunt for a piece of jewellery I know the OH would love. It's made by Links of London, and whilst it isn't massively expensive, it isn't cheap either! I opted for this (
http://www.linksoflondon.com/online-...let-medium)and this (
http://www.linksoflondon.com/online-...46-heart-charm), totalling £155 plus delivery. In an effort to shop around and see if I could find a better price I stumbled across a website (
www.coolinks.co.uk (
http://www.coolinks.co.uk)) selling the same jewellery but at cheaper prices (
http://www.coolinks.co.uk/Bracelets/...-Bracelet.html), basically the 'same' items for £39 plus delivery. On initial inspection it appears to be a genuine site, based in the UK, and I know alarm bells should of started ringing away, but how often do you see a manufacturers price being massivly undercut online? So I ordered the item from coolinks.co.uk, payment was taken (Payment reference on my bank statement is 'DOTCOM GLOBAL TRAD CARDIFF' and I received a Parcel Force tracking reference and all the usual email confirmations etc. It was only when I did an online track and trace to see the progress of delivery that my fears began to emerge. The initial collection was from Beijing in China! :( So I began doing a bit of research, research I know I should have done before hand, and found out that the coolinks.co.uk website is listed in places as being potentially dodgy for Links of London jewellery. Not good.
More...